I will always remeber the day we found a treasure in the garden…

We were living in Brussels at the time in the most beautiful Maison de Maitre, I must have been about thirteen and my brother eleven. It was a rainy and squishy weekend afternoon and we were all in the back garden pottering around, well my mum was probably in the kitchen cooking up a glorious meal.

My parents had just recently bought the house and they were still digging up the garden which was long and narrow, typical of the style of house. The back of the graden would have been where all the previous owners of the house would have thrown away rubbish, broken dishes and all the items which no longer meant anything to them.

Now here is where the story splits and I truly cannot remeber who actually found this little treasure but I do remeber that it was most definitely not me this time! I’ll let my brother and my father contend for this title…

Well in any respect, here is what they found among green and blue glass levigated by years of rain and a few good handfuls of broken crockey albeit with¬†fascinating swirling designs, it just wasn’t quite as worthy as the seal…

A good ten years of hadling it has made the bone or mother of pearl handle shine with a warm lustre. It has followed us from house to house safely kept among other little treasures in a glass cabinet. Each of us taking it out and trying to decipher the monogram underneath and each of us remebering the day we found it and could not believe our eyes. Years of scavenging and hoping to find something at the bottom of the garden had finally paid off with this pretty little trinket which I am sure one day we may well decide to return to the bottom of a garden…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

